Man arrested for DWI Faces Ninth Charge

Posted by Doug Murphy | Feb 01, 2019 | 0 Comments

A Houston man is facing a charge of driving while impaired after already having eight previous convictions of the offense. The driver was arrested after sideswiping a car on the highway, and the breathalyzer test read that his blood alcohol content (BAC) was .22, nearly four times the legal limit.

If you've been charged with a DWI in Houston and have already been convicted of the offense twice in the past, it's important to get the legal representation you need to fight your charge because you are looking at serious jail time and steep fines that will affect your life for years to come. Here's an overview of the penalties you can expect if convicted of a third or subsequent DWI in Harris County, Texas.

Third or Subsequent DWI in Houston

If you've been charged with a third-offense DWI, the penalties that you can face are severe. If you're in a similar situation, you are no longer facing a misdemeanor charge--in Texas, a third or subsequent offense of driving while impaired is a felony charge.

Third Offense

A third charge of driving while impaired is a third-degree felony charge. If convicted, a driver faces:

  • imprisonment from two and ten years;
  • a fine of up to $10,000; and
  • loss of driving privileges for two years.

Fourth or Subsequent Offense

  • imprisonment from two to ten years;
  • a fine of up to $20,000; and
  • loss of driving privileges for two years.

In addition to the penalties listed above, a person who has been convicted of a third or subsequent offense of driving while impaired must pay a license renewal surcharge for three years. This can take a serious hit on your wallet--the renewal fee is $2,000 each year.

Defenses to Your DWI Charge

If you've been arrested for DWI for the third or more time, having an experienced and aggressive attorney on your side is critical. A DWI defense attorney is armed with a number of legal defenses may result in dismissal or an acquittal. These DWI defenses include:

  • You were not actually intoxicated at the time of your charge;
  • The traffic stop violated your Fourth Amendment rights;
  • The DWI test performed to determine your blood alcohol content was incorrect;
  • The field sobriety test was not administered correctly, or you suffer from a medical condition that made you fail the test.

Charged with Third or Subsequent DWI in Texas? Doug Murphy is on the Case

If you are facing a third or subsequent charge of driving while impaired in Houston or a surrounding area of Texas, the best choice you can make for your future is to retain the help of an attorney who knows the ins and outs of DWI law in the state. A subsequent offense DWI charge should never be fought alone; too much is at stake if you are convicted of the charge.

With Board certifications in both criminal law and DWI defenseDoug Murphy is ready and willing to fight your DWI charge on your behalf. Don't wait until it is too late to get the help you need from a DWI defense attorney you can trust--to speak with a member of our legal team about your charge, fill out an online case evaluation form or call (713) 229-8333 today.

About the Author

Doug Murphy

Doug Murphy is one of only two Texas lawyers Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, and also in DWI Defense by the National College for DUI Defense, accredited by the American Bar Association and the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Today

If you are facing DWI or other criminal charges in Texas, contact our office today to discuss your case, so we can begin working on your defense. Please provide only your personal email and cell phone number so that we can immediately and confidentially communicate with you.