Schedule a free consultation


“Constant communication, swift resolution, ideal result :)”-Satisfied Client

Thirty-nine Felony DWI Arrests in Montgomery County in December

 Posted on January 01, 2019 in Uncategorized

Last month was a busy period of time for police officers in the Houston area--Montgomery County police officers arrested 39 people for felony DWI charges in the month of December 2018 alone. If you've been charged with felony DWI in Texas, Doug Murphy is standing by to help.

Felony DWI in Texas

While the majority of cases of driving while impaired in Texas are misdemeanor offenses, several "aggravating circumstances" exist which can escalate a misdemeanor DWI charge to a DWI felony.

Third or Subsequent Offense

The first two offenses of driving while impaired are generally misdemeanor charges. If you are charged with DWI three or more times, however, these offenses will be considered a felony. Third-time DWI offenders can face a penalty of up to $10,000, along with a prison sentence between two and ten years. In addition, your license can be suspended for a minimum of 180 days.

DWI with Serious Bodily Injury

If you were driving while impaired and were involved in an accident resulting in serious bodily injury to a passenger in your vehicle or someone in another vehicle, you will face a charge of intoxication assault, a third-degree felony charge. If convicted, you can face two to ten years in prison, along with a fine of up to $10,000 and a loss of your driving privileges for up to two years.

DWI Causing Death

Causing the death of a passenger or someone in another vehicle while driving under the influence is also known as intoxication manslaughter. This crime carries a second-degree felony charge and can face anywhere between 2 and 10 years in prison along with a fine of up to $10.000. Your license will also be suspended for up to two years.

DWI with a Child Passenger

Carrying a child passenger--someone under the age of 15--while driving impaired is considered a state jail felony which can land you in a state jail facility for up to two years. You could also be forced to pay a fine of up to $10,000 and will lose your license for up to two years.

Getting Your License Back After a Felony DWI

Following a felony DWI conviction, your license will be suspended for up to two years. Reinstating your driving privileges will require you to meet a number of requirements, which can include:

  • Installing an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle to test whether you have consumed alcohol before driving;
  • Paying a reinstatement fee; and
  • Completing an alcohol education program.

Charged with Felony DWI in Houston? Doug Murphy Can Help

If you've been charged with driving while impaired in Houston or a surrounding area in Texas, your first priority should be finding a competent criminal defense attorney to fight your charge on your behalf. You should never try to fight against a DWI charge on your own, especially if your DWI charge is a felony offense--your ability to drive is at stake, along with your freedom. Board-certified attorney Doug Murphy is dedicated to providing the trusted legal representation you need to defend against your charge. To speak with Doug Murphy about your charge, fill out an online case evaluation form or call 713-229-8333 today.

Share this post:
Back to Top