We hear a lot about DWIs, what happens after an arrest, and even the possible defenses. But what happens if you're facing multiple criminal charges along with your DWI. A recent story from the Texas Department of Public Safety gives us a glimpse into how more complicated DWI cases play out.
In February of this year, deputies from the Angelina County Sherriff's Office responded to a report from a caller of a suspicious man going through their yard. While deputies were responding, the Sherriff's Office received several other calls reporting that the man got into a truck to drive away but crashed through a fence and into a pasture before fleeing on foot into nearby woods. The Texas Department of Safety arrested the man the next day for:
- The Class C misdemeanor failure to stop and give information,
- Felony possession of less than one gram of a penalty group one controlled substance, and
- Third-degree felony driving while intoxicated (third or more DWI).
This case illustrates how another charge often accompanies a DWI.
Normally, a first DWI in Texas is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable with up to 90 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. But for multiple DWI convictions, the degree of the crime and the subsequent penalties increase. A second DWI is typically a Class A misdemeanor, but third or subsequent DWIs are third-degree felony charges. A third-degree felony DWI conviction will carry a minimum of two years in prison and a $10,000 fine. While the judge may probate some of that sentence, a third-degree felony DWI conviction will involve jail time. The good news is that you are always innocent until proven guilty, and you do have defenses. But it is a good idea to hire a DWI defense attorney who is well versed in complicated DWI cases.
Failure to Stop
Under Texas law, if you're involved in a crash and damage another car or property, you're required to stop and give your information to the other property owner. You'll need to provide your:
- Registration information,
- License number, and
- Information regarding the car you were driving.
Failure to stop is a Class C misdemeanor.
Felony Drug Possession
The consequences of a drug charge can vary based on the controlled substance and the amount involved. But felony drug possession of even less than one gram of a class one controlled substance can result in up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine. If you're facing a drug charge, it's important to ensure that your attorney is experienced in criminal defense.
Hire an Experienced Texas DWI and Criminal Attorney
If you're facing a DWI along with other charges, you need expert legal representation – fast. You need something more than a generalist lawyer who has handled a few DWIs. You'll want to ensure that your attorney is skilled in both complex DWI defense and criminal defense.
Attorney Doug Murphy is an expert in both DWI and criminal defense. He is a Board Certified in both DWI defense and criminal defense. These certifications come with the assurance that Doug has extensive courtroom experience and expertise with the complex technical and legal aspects of DWI and criminal defense law. He can give you the advice you need to find a path forward, even with a complicated DWI case with multiple charges. Doug is also the Lawyer of the Year for DWI defense for 2021 in Houston. Contact the Doug Murphy Law Firm online or at (713) 229-8333 today to discuss your case.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment