An off-duty Houston police officer was temporarily relieved of her duty this week after she was arrested under the suspicion of driving while intoxicated following a traffic accident. The stakes are higher for the law enforcement officer than a typical first-offense DWI however, as her 13-year-old daughter was a passenger.
Cassandra Crosby, an 11-year veteran of the Houston Police Department, was taken into custody after causing a collision at the intersection of Fondren and South Main in southwest Houston. The accident occurred on Sunday, September 9, at approximately 8 p.m.
According to court records, Crosby was the cause of a vehicle collision after illegally entering an intersection with flashing red lights in all directions. After the accident, Crosby pulled her vehicle into the parking lot of a nearby business. When patrol officers arrived and made contact with her, they allege to have detected the smell of alcohol while speaking with her. After initially claiming she had only had one or two glasses of wine, Crosby admitted that she had drunk an entire bottle before getting in her vehicle.
According to the police report, the patrol officers observed her slurring her speech, smelling of alcohol, and failing field sobriety tests. After investigating, the officers arrested Crosby and booked her into Harris County Jail. She appeared in court on Tuesday, September 11, where the judge ordered her child be placed into the custody of a family member. Crosby is barred from having any contact with the child beyond phone calls.
DWI With a Child Passenger in Texas
Crosby faces a felony charge of DWI with a Child Passenger under the age of 15. According to Texas Penal Code Chapter 12 § 49.045, any driver that operates a vehicle with a passenger under the age of 15 while intoxicated can be charged with a felony.
Penalties for a Conviction for DWI with a Child Passenger
A charge of DWI with a Child Passenger is a state jail felony (SJF) in Texas. If convicted, Crosby will face the following potential penalties:
- Between 180 days and 2 years in state jail
- A maximum fine of $10,000
- 180-day suspension of driving privileges
- Up to 1,000 hours of community service
- Requirement of an ignition interlock device
- Completion of an alcohol education class
- All the costs associated with court, probation, and reinstatement of driving privileges.
Hiring the Right Houston DWI Defense Attorney
The consequences of a conviction for DWI with a child passenger can alter your life. Not only is your freedom at risk, but the consequences can continue to haunt you after your sentence is up. A felony conviction can make acquiring employment or housing difficult. It can even cost you a security clearance. Thankfully, attorney Doug Murphy is ready to help. Doug Murphy is one of only two attorneys in the State of Texas that is a Board Certified expert in both criminal law and DWI defense. To discuss your case with one of Houston's most qualified DWI defense attorney, contact the Doug Murphy Law Firm, P.C. today for your free consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment