If the police arrest you for a DWI outside of Texas, you may be wondering if this can affect your driving record in Texas and what consequences you might face in your home state. Out-of-state DWI convictions can impact your Texas driver's license, as a Texas mayor recently discovered. The small-town Texas mayor recently made national headlines last month after a DWI arrest led to his resignation. The police upgraded his charge to a felony DWI after discovering he had two previous convictions for DWI, a Texas conviction in 1999 and a Missouri DWI conviction in 2007.
Texas DWI Penalties
In Texas, a first DWI is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a license suspension of up to 180 days, and a $2,000 fine. Additionally, you will face another mandatory $3,000 administrative fine in addition to the fine imposed by the courts. A second DWI is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to a $6,000 fine, in addition to administrative penalties.
However, a third or subsequent DWI is a felony DWI in Texas. A conviction for a third DWI will result in mandatory jail time from two to ten years in jail, a license suspension of up to two years, and up to a $10,000 fine. Felony convictions come with additional consequences, including the possible loss of any professional licenses and a loss of gun rights. You may also face difficulty finding employment, obtaining a loan, or renting an apartment.
Driver License Compact Commission
If you have prior DWI convictions, they can still come back to haunt you in Texas, thanks to the Driver License Compact Commission (DLCC). The DLCC comprises 45 states and the District of Columbia to share driver's license record information and traffic violation records. Texas is a member of the DLCC and shares all DWI information with the consortium. Likewise, Missouri is a member of the DLCC and shared the Texas mayor's information with Texas. As a result, police easily discovered that the mayor was facing his third DWI charge, a felony charge in Texas.
Hire an Experienced Texas DWI Attorney
If you're facing a DWI after an out-of-state charge, or if you're facing an out-of-state DWI charge and are concerned about the consequences in Texas, you need a lawyer who is an expert in DWI defense. Attorney Doug Murphy is one of only two Texas attorneys Board Certified in both Criminal Defense Law and DWI Defense. Find out why Houston media outlets call Doug the “Drinking Driver's Best Friend.” Contact the Doug Murphy Law Firm, P.C., today online or at 713-229-8333 to set up a consultation
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment