If you're facing a DWI charge in Texas, one of your most immediate worries is probably how you're going to get around. When arrested for DWI, the police take your license and give you a pink sheet of paper to act as a temporary license. Now, in addition to worrying about criminal charges, you're wondering, “How will I get to work?” and “Where is my car?!” First, try not to panic. You do have options, and an experienced DWI attorney can help you.
Where is My Car?
When the police arrest you for a DWI in Houston, they have several options to deal with your car. They can:
- Allow a sober, qualified passenger in your car to drive it home;
- Wait at the scene for a friend or family member to get the car; or
- Impound the car and tow it.
The police are under no obligation to sit at the scene and wait for someone to come to get your car. They do, however, have to be reasonable with whatever option they choose. So, if it's just as easy to wait for a family member to wait for a tow truck, they will probably do so.
If the police did have your car towed, you can find it by visiting FindMyTowedCar.com. You will need to enter your license plate number, vehicle identification number (VIN), and additional information about your car. You can also call the tow number at 713-308-8580. Keep in mind that if the police arrested you, they also searched your car incident to the arrest.
Can I Drive After a DWI Charge?
After your arrest, the police will take your driver's license and give you a pink sheet that you may use as a temporary license for 40 days. After 40 days, your license suspension begins automatically. If the police pull you over while driving on a suspended license, you will face additional charges, and the police may arrest you again.
However, if you request an Administrative License Revocation hearing within 15 days of your arrest, you can drive temporarily until the judge rules in your ALR hearing. If you fail to request an ALR hearing, the state will suspend your license for at least six months after your 40 day grace period.
What is an ALR Hearing?
An Administrative License Revocation hearing is a formal legal proceeding to review the legality of your license suspension. The state can only suspend your license if you:
- Refused blood alcohol content testing via a breath or blood test; or
- You failed the BAC test and had a blood-alcohol level of .08% or more.
At the hearing, you and your attorney will have the opportunity to attack the state's evidence or challenge the BAC testing results. This hearing is also an excellent opportunity to test the strength of the state's case before your DWI trial. If you are successful at the ALR hearing, you will get your license back.
Attorney Doug Murphy is Board Certified in DWI defense by the National College for DUI Defense, accredited by the American Bar Association and recognized by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He is only of only two Texas attorneys Board Certified in both DWI defense and criminal law. Best Lawyers in America also recently named him the “Lawyer of the Year” for 2021 DWI defense. Doug received this prestigious award through the reviews of his peers in the DWI defense industry.
Doug is passionate about helping people in his community fight DWI charges. If you're facing a charge for DWI, we can help. Give us a call at 713-229-8333 to set up a consultation today.