Schedule a free consultation


“Constant communication, swift resolution, ideal result :)”-Satisfied Client

Multiple DWI Convictions Can Lead to Serious Jail Time in Texas

 Posted on February 02, 2021 in Uncategorized

By now, we all know that drinking while intoxicated is dangerous. But we're human, and we all make mistakes. It can easily happen. Let's say you have a few glasses of wine with dinner when you're tired, and then the police pull you over for speeding on the way home. If you're facing a DWI charge in Texas, you aren't alone. Texas has 259.6 DWI arrests per 100,000 people. We have strict DWI laws here, and they've helped lower the Texas DWI arrest rate by 32% from 2008 to 2018.

Still, Texas's strict enforcement of DWI laws can lead the police to see impairment where someone may just be tired. It's important to know that an arrest for a DWI doesn't mean that a court will convict you, even if it isn't your first arrest. But if you have multiple convictions for DWI and the police arrest you again, it's important to consult an attorney who is a Texas DWI specialist right away.

Arrest After Multiple DWI Convictions

Take, for example, an Odessa woman recently arrested for DWI on January 5, 2021, in Brazos County. Texas A&M police arrested the woman allegedly driving without lights at 10 pm, heading in the opposite direction of her intended destination. According to police, she failed several sobriety tests and admitted to using illegal drugs three days before the stop. She had four previous DWIs on her record and spent the night in Brazos County Jail.

Normally, a first conviction for a DWI with no aggravating circumstances is a Class B misdemeanor. A conviction for a first DWI can result in 72 hours to 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine, and a license suspension. Texas also imposes an additional mandatory fine of $4,000 for the first DWI conviction within 36 months. Penalties and fines increase with each subsequent DWI conviction.

In the article above, the Odessa woman already had four DWI convictions. Consequently, the DWI charge she faces from the Texas A&M police can be a third-degree felony punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and up to ten years in prison. The police typically charge a third or subsequent DWI offense as a third-degree felony under Texas law.

Hire an Experienced Texas DWI Attorney

If you're facing a DWI charge after multiple DWI convictions, you are still innocent until proven guilty. But you need an attorney who is an expert in DWI defense. Attorney Doug Murphy is a Board Certified expert in both DWI defense and criminal law. Moreover, he has a proven track record defending complex Texas DWI charges for clients with past DWI convictions.

Doug is one of only two attorneys in Texas certified in both DWI defense and criminal law. He is Board Certified in DUI Defense by the National College of DUI Defense (NCDD), accredited by the American Bar Association and the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Because of Doug's vast experience in DWI defense, he currently serves as the Dean of the National College for DUI Defense conducted at Harvard Law School.

Best Lawyers in America also recently named Doug the "Lawyer of the Year" for 2021 for DWI defense. Call the Doug Murphy Law Firm, P.C. at 713-229-8333 today to set up a consultation.

Share this post:
Back to Top